Job Hopping: Good or Bad?

Job-Hopping

Wherever I turn, I feel like people are talking about how much the world has changed, even within the last decade alone. From the improvement of technology to a more global thinking society, no one can deny the every-changing world we live in.

One of the major changes people are talking about is how frequently newcomers to the work force are changing jobs, or as it has been termed: job-hopping. An article from Forbes commented on the undeniable difference between the workers over and under the age of 35. According to the article, the average worker’s expectation of staying at a job is around four and a half years, while “ninety-one percent of Millennials (born between 1977-1997) expect to stay in a job for less than three.” Because the facts are irrefutable, I decided it was time that I thought more about the downsides and benefits of this relatively new trend. One of the obvious downsides to moving around so much is the perception of not being committed to a company. Not too long ago, recruiters would look poorly upon someone who had three different jobs within the last five years, however we may be currently on track to make this résumé a norm. Workers who are actively looking to quickly climb the corporate ladder usually employ the method of job-hopping.

In order for companies to entice their employees to stay with the company, I suggest two things. One, allow for growth. Having achievable goals or a new position to work towards allows a person to climb the corporate ladder internally and makes it unnecessary to search for a position at a different company. The second main factor that will convince workers to stay is flexibility. Like the Jeanne Melster mentions in the article, when bosses listen to what their employees want or need, and reasonable accommodations are made, then they are more likely to stay.

Sometimes change is vital. If there is no personal growth, no intellectual challenge or unreasonable demands, then look for another position. When I try to imagine where I’ll be in five, ten, fifteen years, my mind goes blank. I have no idea. I want to be happy at my job. I do not know if that means I will need to go through ten different jobs, I will find the perfect one out of college, or I will be satisfied at some point between these two extremes. However what I do know is that I will not settle until I am. I believe this is one of the biggest differences between our generation and the ones before us: our determination to not settle for less than what we want. So let’s go out there, make a difference and be happy – whether it takes twenty-five jobs or only one.

Avery Stroman

University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Further Reading : http://www.forbes.com/sites/jeannemeister/2012/08/14/job-hopping-is-the-new-normal-for-millennials-three-ways-to-prevent-a-human-resource-nightmare/

Leave a Reply

